Total number of dispensaries licensed under the commission in the state of Maryland will not exceed two. A dispensary is a facility where a patient with debilitating illness and the patient’s caregiver can purchase marijuana for medical use.
Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in the state of Maryland are prohibited from obtaining marijuana from outside the state. Dispensaries may only purchase from a registered medical marijuana dispensary. They must be located at least 1,000 feet from a private or public school and daycare facilities. Dispensaries must be dispersed geographically throughout the state of Maryland. Medical Marijuana Dispensaries are required to have laboratory testing to determine CBD/THC content, quality, and potency. Dispensaries must be an enclosed and locked facility with required security measures to prevent unauthorized entrance.
Visiting a Dispensary
To acquire medical marijuana in Maryland, a patient with debilitating illness must present a physician’s written certificate or recommendation or a registered ID and a valid state identification card. An individual must be at least 21 years of age to enter a medical marijuana dispensary.
Starting a Dispensary
To start a Medical Marijuana Dispensary in Maryland, one must be licensed under the commission with the complete documentation, application, and required fee. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and with no background of any drug felony conviction in order to operate or open a medical marijuana dispensary in the state of Maryland. Applications are comprehensive and merit-based and will require the following:
- Initial applications will require to be a grower. and fees include grower’s and dispensary’s licenses. Grower Fee $250,000 (payable in $125,000 annual installments); Dispensary Fee $80,000 (payable in $40,000 annual installments)
- Non-profit information
- Site location
- Proof of capital